The First Rule of Punk

Malú rocks!" --victoria jamieson, author and illustrator of the New York Times bestselling and Newbery Honor-winning Roller Girl. And when she assembles a group of like-minded misfits at school and starts a band, Malú finally begins to feel at home. The real malú loves rock music, and Soyrizo hold the cilantro, zines, skateboarding, please.

On day one, if you want to annoy her inadvertently upsets posada Middle School’s queen bee, violates the school’s dress code with her punk rock look, twelve-year-old Malú María Luisa, and disappoints her college-professor mom in the process. She'll do anything to preserve this, which includes standing up to an anti-punk school administration to fight for her right to express herself! Black and white illustrations and collage art throughout make The First Rule of Punk a perfect pick for fans of books like Roller Girl and online magazines like Rookie.

Armed with a microphone and a pair of scissors, this book is all about creating something new and awesome in the world. Her dad, who now lives a thousand miles away, says things will get better as long as she remembers the first rule of punk: be yourself. A 2018 pura belpré author honor bookthe first rule of Punk is a wry and heartfelt exploration of friendship, finding your place, and learning to rock out like no one’s watching.

There are no shortcuts to surviving your first day at a new school—you can’t fix it with duct tape like you would your Chuck Taylors.


The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora

And maybe a few shifts as junior lunchtime dishwasher at Abuela’s restaurant. Make Abuela proud. Save the town. A 2018 pura belpré author Honor BookSave the restaurant. Maybe. But this summer also includes Carmen, a poetry enthusiast who moves into Arturo’s apartment complex and turns his stomach into a deep fryer.

Get the girl. He almost doesn’t notice the smarmy land developer who rolls into town and threatens to change it. Arturo refuses to let his family and community go down without a fight, and as he schemes with Carmen, Arturo discovers the power of poetry and protest through untold family stories and the work of José Martí.

Funny and poignant, and one boy's quest to save both, a striking portrait of a town, The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora is the vibrant story of a family, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia. Can thirteen-year-old arturo zamora do it all or is he in for a BIG, summertime in Miami means playing basketball until dark, EPIC FAIL? For Arturo, sipping mango smoothies, and keeping cool under banyan trees.

.


Insignificant Events in the Life of a Cactus

It’s hard to solve a mystery, help a friend, and face your worst fears. Aven green loves to tell people that she lost her arms in an alligator wrestling match, or a wildfire in Tanzania, but the truth is she was born without them. Aven is a perky, hilarious, and inspiring protagonist whose attitude and humor will linger even after the last page has turned.

School library journal starred reviewthe paperback edition of the bestselling middle grade novel about a spunky girl born without arms and a boy with Tourette syndrome navigating the challenges of middle school, disability, and friendship—all while solving a mystery in a western theme park. And when her parents take a job running stagecoach Pass, a rundown western theme park in Arizona, Aven moves with them across the country knowing that she’ll have to answer the question over and over again.

But aven’s about to discover she can do it all. Her new life takes an unexpected turn when she bonds with Connor, a classmate who also feels isolated because of his own disability, and they discover a room at Stagecoach Pass that holds bigger secrets than Aven ever could have imagined. Even without arms.

Autumn 2017 kids’ indie next pick junior library Guild Selection Library of Congress's 52 Great Reads List 2018  .


The Stars Beneath Our Feet

Lolly’s always loved Legos, and he prides himself on following the kit instructions exactly. More praise for the stars beneath our feet:a new york times notable booka time top 10 children's books of the yeara boston globe best children's book of the YearA Publishers Weekly Best Book of the YearA Kirkus Reviews Best Children's Book of the YearA Shelf Awareness Best Children's Book of the YearAn ALA-YALSA Quick PickAn ALA-ALSC Notable Children's Book “A fast and furious read in which we meet some amazing people, people that stay with us.

. Winner of the coretta scott king–john steptoe award for new talent! **michael b. I found myself rooting for Lolly, and you will too. Jason reynolds, coretta scott King Honor Award Winner for As Brave As You. The right story at the right time. Then lolly’s mother’s girlfriend brings him a gift that will change everything: two enormous bags filled with Legos.

When lolly and his friend are beaten up and robbed, joining a crew almost seems like the safe choice. It’s not just a narrative; it’s an experience. His path isn’t clear—and the pressure to join a “crew, ” as his brother did, is always there. It’s the novel we’ve been waiting for. The new york times a boy tries to steer a safe path through the projects in Harlem in the wake of his brother’s death in this outstanding debut novel that celebrates community and creativity.




Falling Over Sideways

Suddenly the joke has become very serious -- and the only way Claire, her family, and her friends are going to get through it is if they can find a way to make it funny again. And at home, nobody's really listening to her -- if anything, they seem to be more in on the joke than she is. Then into all of this not-very-funny-to-Claire comedy comes something intense and tragic -- while her dad is talking to her at the kitchen table, he falls over with a medical emergency.

But she's not laughing. Really. Claire's life is a joke. While her friends seem to be leaping forward, she's dancing in the same place. A new hilarious, honest, and hopeful novel from the author of Drums, Girls, and Dangerous PieIt's not easy being Claire. The mean girls at school are living up to their mean name, and there's a boy, Ryder, who's just as bad, if not worse.

.


House Arrest Young Adult Fiction, Books for Teens

But when he must take drastic measures to help his struggling family, staying out of trouble proves more difficult than Timothy ever thought it would be. Touching, and always original, humorous, House Arrest is a funny book for teens in verse about a good boy's hard-won path to redemption. The ideal addition to any young adult book collection, House Arrest will delight reluctant readers and provides teenage motivation when it's needed most.

He has to check in weekly with a probation officer and a therapist, keep a journal, and stay out of trouble. Timothy is a good kid who did a bad thing. Now he's under house arrest for a whole year. House Arrest.


Stef Soto, Taco Queen

But just when new city regulations are proposed, and her family's livelihood is threatened, she will have to become the truck's unlikely champion. She wants nothing more than for her dad to get a normal job and for Tia Perla to be put out to pasture. In this fun and multicultural middle grade novel, Stef will embrace her identity and discover what matters most.

House Arrest. A heartwarming middle grade about family, friendship, and finding your voice plus, tacos!. Seventh grader estefania "stef" Soto is itching to shake off the onion-and-cilantro embrace of Tia Perla, her family's taco truck. It's no fun being known as the "Taco Queen" at school.


The Blackthorn Key

House Arrest. Aladdin Paperbacks. But when a mysterious cult begins to prey on London’s apothecaries, the trail of murders grows closer and closer to Blackthorn’s shop. Following a series of murders, an apothecary’s apprentice must solve puzzles and decipher codes in pursuit of a secret that could destroy the world in this “spectacular debut” Kirkus Reviews, starred review.

Tell no one what I’ve given you. Until he got that cryptic warning, potions, christopher Rowe was happy, learning how to solve complex codes and puzzles and creating powerful medicines, and weapons as an apprentice to Master Benedict Blackthorn—with maybe an explosion or two along the way. With time running out, christopher must use every skill he’s learned to discover the key to a terrible secret with the power to tear the world apart.

In his stunning debut novel, Kevin Sands brings readers on a heart-stopping adventure rich with suspense, mystery, and unforgettable characters.


Marcus Vega Doesn't Speak Spanish

After a fight at school leaves Marcus facing suspension, Marcus's mom decides it's time for a change of environment. One boy's search for his father leads him to Puerto Rico in this moving middle-grade novel, for fans of Ghost and See You in the Cosmos. Marcus vega is six feet tall, 180 pounds, and the owner of a premature mustache.

But marcus can't focus knowing that his father--who walked out of their lives ten years ago--is somewhere on the island. When you look like this and you're only in the eighth grade, you're both a threat and a target. Marcus doesn't know if he'll ever find his father, but what he ultimately discovers changes his life.

She takes marcus and his younger brother to Puerto Rico to spend a week with relatives they don't remember or have never met. House Arrest. Aladdin Paperbacks. And he even learns a bit of Spanish along the way. So begins marcus's incredible journey, a series of misadventures that take him all over Puerto Rico in search of his elusive namesake.

.


It Ain't So Awful, Falafel

Aladdin Paperbacks. For the fourth time. Zomorod cindy Yousefzadeh is the new kid on the block. Even puka shell necklaces, pool parties, and flying fish can't distract Cindy from the anti-Iran sentiments that creep way too close to home. Headlines with protests, revolution, and finally the taking of American hostages.

. A poignant yet lighthearted middle grade debut from the author of the best-selling Funny in Farsi. House Arrest. It’s the late 1970s, and fitting in becomes more difficult as Iran makes U. S. California’s newport beach is her family’s latest perch, and she’s determined to shuck her brainy loner persona and start afresh with a new Brady Bunch name—Cindy.

.


Flying Lessons & Other Stories

Baptist, grace lin, meg medina, tim tingle, walter dean myers, tim federle, Soman Chainani, Matt de la Peña, Jacqueline Woodson   “There’s plenty of magic in this collection to go around. Booklist,  starred “A natural for middle school classrooms and libraries. Kirkus reviews,  starred “Inclusive, authentic, and eminently readable.

School library journal,  Starred “Thought provoking and wide-ranging. Authors include: Kwame Alexander, Kelly J. Will resonate with any kid who's ever felt different—which is to say, every kid. Time   great stories take flight in this adventurous middle-grade anthology crafted by ten of the most recognizable and diverse authors writing today.

Newbery medalist kwame alexander delivers a story in-verse about a boy who just might have magical powers; National Book Award winner Jacqueline Woodson spins a tale of friendship against all odds; and Meg Medina uses wet paint to color in one girl’s world with a short story that inspired her Newbery award-winner Merci Suárez Changes Gear.

Should not be missed. Publishers weekly,  Starred  “Read more books by these authors. The bulletin,  Starred House Arrest. Whether it is basketball dreams, family fiascos, or new neighborhoods, first crushes, Meg Medina, Jacqueline Woodson, this bold short story collection—written by some of the best children’s authors including Kwame Alexander, and many more and published in partnership with We Need Diverse Books—celebrates the uniqueness and universality in all of us.

.